Liverpool Duo Salah & Mane Nominated For CAF 2019 Award (See Full List)

Liverpool Duo Salah & Mane Nominated For CAF 2019 Award (See Full List)
Liverpool duo and Champions League winner, Mohamed Salah is targeting a third consecutive African Player of the Year trophy after being named on the preliminary list of nominees for the 2019 award.

If the Egypt forward finally wins the award again, he will be  the third player which have been named the continent's Player of the Year a maximum of three times in his career, joining AC Milan icon George Weah and former Marseille star Abedi Pele. Only Former Manchester City, Yaya Toure and Former Barcelona star, Samuel Eto'o have won it a record of four times.

The 27-year-old faces competition for this year's award from his Liverpool team-mate Sadio Mane. The Senegal international was joint top scorer in the Premier League last season with 22 goals alongside Salah and is joined by fellow Liverpool player Naby Keita.

Arsenal striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang has also been named on the 30-strong list, having last won the award in the year 2015.

Salah, Mane and Aubameyang were the final three candidates for the award in the previous two seasons.

Algeria international and Manchester City forward Riyad Mahrez, who won the award in 2016, is also included on the list announced by the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

Aubameyang's Arsenal teammate Nicolas Pepe of the Ivory Coast is another on the list, along with Leicester City's Nigerian midfielder Wilfred Ndidi and Aston Villa midfielder Trezeguet.

Liverpool Duo Salah & Mane Nominated For CAF 2019 Award (See Full List)

The shortlisted players below;

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund), André Onana (Cameroon & Ajax), Baghdad Bounedjah (Algeria& Al-Sadd) , Carolus Andriamatsinoro (Madagascar & Al Adalah), Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns), Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (Cameroon & Paris Saint-Germain), Ferjani Sassi(Tunisia & Zamalek), Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax), Idrissa Gueye (Senegal & Paris Saint-Germain), Ismail Bennacer (Algeria & AC Milan), Jordan Ayew (Ghana & Crystal Palace), Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli), Kodjo Fo Doh Laba (Togo & Al Ain), Mahmoud Hassan “Trezeguet” (Egypt & Aston Villa), Mbwana Samatta (Tanzania & Genk) , Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool), Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto), Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool) , Nicolas Pepe (Côte d’Ivoire & Arsenal) , Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Shanghai Shenhua) , Percy Tau (South Africa & Club Brugge), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal) , Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City) , Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool), Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance) , Thomas Teye Partey (Ghana & Atlético Madrid) , Victor Osimhen (Nigeria & Lille) , Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City), Wilfried Zaha (Côte d’Ivoire & Crystal Palace), Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Ahli Jeddah).

Post a Comment